Driving Lessons

 

Our instructors are some of the most experienced in the industry. We train our staff very well and have much better staff retention than most driving schools in the state.

Instruction is customized to fit your needs. We start where you are and move you where you need to be, progressing as you gain skills. We do not use a cookie-cutter checklist approach like most schools where all students drive the same path and spend the exact same amount of time doing the same thing. We progress when you are ready to move on.

All of our lessons are private. We do not force you to sit in a car and “observe” while another inexperienced driver has their lesson. It does not help you and it puts you at an unnecessary risk. This also means that every hour of training you purchase is actual training – 6 hours of lessons is 6 hours of driving.

All of our cars are average 4-door sedans with 5-star safety ratings. It may be fun to drive a cool car on lessons, but safety and driving skill development are our top priorities. Skills learned in our cars translate very easily to cars of different size and shape.

Our cars are equipped with an instructor brake and mirror on the passenger side. All our cars are clearly marked with “Student Driver” and “National Driver Training” for the student’s safety.

We keep current with the driving and safety studies to ensure our methods are the safest driving practices.

Insurance companies recognize our company and give discounts to those who complete lessons (please contact your agent for details).

We schedule lessons in 90 minute blocks. We welcome people with special needs. Our instructors are patient and will adapt instruction as needed. All of our lessons include a written evaluation for you to reference to see where you are and what you need to practice

Our standard packages are 1 1/2, 3, or 6 hours of lessons, but we are happy to sell you as many hours as you would like. We have many students who already have a driver’s license who just want to come in and work on specific skills (like parking or merging). Sometimes we have students who are licensed drivers but have either not driven in many years (we have had several students in their 80s who had not driven in 20 or 30 years and just wanted to make sure they were going to drive safely) or been in an accident and want to build up their confidence. As long as you have a permit or license, we are happy to train you!”

You must have purchased your lessons and have your permit before scheduling lessons. Lessons are available Monday-Saturday.

 

Teens

 

NOTE: Teens obtaining a license before 16 ½ are required by law to complete at least 6 hours of lessons with a professional instructor employed by a Colorado licensed driving school before obtaining a driver’s license. Because of this, 6 hours is our most popular lessons package.

Since our lessons are private, parents are invited to ride along on teen lessons (parents only, limit of one parent at a time; you must allow us to be the one to teach the lesson)

Free pickups are available after school at most schools in Colorado Springs, Monument, and Falcon. We pick up students from school and drop them off at home (or at after school activities such as sports or scouts)

We recommend starting your first lesson as soon as you get your permit and then completing them approximately one month a part, making sure to complete all 4 90-minute sessions within you first 6 months of driving. Although this is idea for most students, we are flexible to schedule whatever fits your needs. We strongly encourage scheduling 1-4 weeks apart to be able practice with parents between lessons (can be closer for experienced drivers completing lessons just for state requirements).

Teen Driver Special

Complete teen driver package including 30 hour course and 6 hours of professional lessons for only $440! You must be between the ages of 14/9 months and 17 to qualify for this deal. Please call our office to order this special - 719-266-4700

 

Adults

 

We do lessons with adult drivers, regardless of their experience. There has been a growing number of students 18-30 in recent years, but we will work with any adults who have a permit. We have had students even in their 80s and 90s. One of our instructors did not start driving until they were 35, so we understand the challenges of learning to drive as an adult.

Lessons can be done even after you have your license if you need help in a particular type of driving (like highway or mountain driving) or need to boost your confidence behind the wheel. We regularly have adult students who started with zero driving experience complete a few hours to learn basic in-town driving and then come back a few months later to learn more advanced driving.

 

Packages

 

  • 90 minutes - $115
  • 3 hours - $200
  • 6 hours - $385

If you want to start with a smaller package and decide to buy more hours, the cost is the difference between the two packages. If you want to purchase additional lessons after completing 6 hours, the cost is $95 per additional 90-minute session.

Driver evaluation $100 (1 hour plus thorough write-up) – This is typically upon the request of a physician or family member after an illness or injury, but can be done for other reasons as well.


Latest Tweets

Contact Us


Address:
2439 Union Blvd., Colorado Springs, CO

Phone Number:
(719) 266-4700

Hours:
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Twitter Nextdoor Instagram Facebook

© Copyright National Driver Training Institute. All Rights Reserved.